Diabetes Care and Education Specialists Honored at 2020 Virtual Conference

Alma L. Figueroa

Newswise — CHICAGO – Aug. 13, 2020 –Diabetes care and education specialists were recognized at the virtual ADCES20 Annual Conference for their achievements in diabetes care and their dedication to the association. 

Diabetes Care and Education Specialist of the Year Award 

Honoring a diabetes educator who has made a special contribution to the field through dedication, innovation and sensitivity in care. This award is made possible through a sponsorship by Sanofi. 

Joshua Neumiller, PharmD, CDCES, FADCES, FASCP

Neumiller dedicated his career to diabetes care and education after being diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes. The recipient of the 2016 Albert Prescott Award for his work in diabetes care, Neumiller has a history of inspiring fellow pharmacists and pharmacy students to join the effort in tackling diabetes. He was recently editor-in-chief and is now an associate editor of Diabetes Spectrum and served as chair of the American Diabetes Association’s Professional Practice Committee from 2018-2019. 

Lifetime Achievement Award

Recognizing the outstanding contributions and service to ADCES and honoring individuals who exemplify the proud history of diabetes education while serving as extraordinary role models. 

Jane K. Kadohiro, DrPH, APRN, CDCES, FADCES

Having lived with her own type 1 diabetes for 65 years, Kadohiro has devoted much of her life to making a “diabetes difference” for others and further developing the profession. Her contributions to ADCES have includer her service as national president in 2002-2003. Now retired from the University of Hawaii and the Queens Medical Center’s Diabetes Education Program, Kadohiro has served in many leadership roles, including deputy director of health for the State of Hawaii in 2002. 

Allene Van Son Distinguished Service Award

In honor of the first ADCES President, this award recognizes outstanding contributions and service to the association. 

Virginia Peragallo-Dittko, RN, CDCES, BC-ADM, FADCES, FAAN

Peragallo-Dittko has contributed significantly to the association, serving as associate editor of The Diabetes Educator journal since 2008 and on the editorial board from 1985-2000. Peragallo-Dittko has been a contributor to many association publications including editor of A Core Curriculum for Diabetes Educators second edition and addendum. She has been active with the Metropolitan New York LNG and was awarded the ADCES Diabetes Care and Education Specialist of the Year award in 1990.

Donna Tomky Award for Excellence in Practice: 

In memory of former ADCES President Donna Tomky, this award recognizes a member who advances the integration of self-management behaviors with clinical management through practice, health plan or heath system innovation.


Seley is being honored for her commitment to patient and professional education, innovative person-centered diabetes care, and advancing diabetes technology as a tool to assist people living with diabetes and the clinicians that care for them. She has been active with ADCES, serving on the Board of Directors and was senior editor of Danatech Editorial Board. Seley worked closely with Donna Tomky teaching a diabetes technology course across the U.S. and Europe, leading to a certification as a Certified Diabetes Technology Clinician.


ADCES Rising Star Award

Honoring diabetes educators who have less than three years of experience and have demonstrated leadership and commitment to diabetes care.

Betsy Richter-Gifford, BSN, RN, CDCES

Richter-Gifford is advancing the profession through leadership within her local health system and the national ADCES community. Since joining the profession in 2015, she has worked to identify gaps and implement evidence-based solutions to improve the care delivery to individuals with diabetes across Texas Health, a 19-hospital health system. At the ADCES level, she serves as the Texas CB chair and on the annual conference planning committee. 

Innovative Use of Technology Award

Supporting the innovative use and integration of technology into practice.

Jean Marie Chappuis, BC-ADM, RD, CDCES, MMSc, MSW and Parker Dail, Founder/CEO

Dail and Chappuis developed a population health ministry chronic disease management platform that includes a series of critical assessments, related to social determinants, general health, disease severity, self-efficacy, mental health, biometrics and spiritual determinants. Interventions are provided by community caregivers through a mobile application. Participants receive interventions according to the area of greatest need and severity. Interventions are implemented through verbal conversation, real time audio video, recorded video and small group real time face-to-face gatherings.

Molly Wagman, MS, RDN, CSSD, CDCES

Wagman created a fully remote structured education programs currently available to mySugr Coaching participants on the mySugr app. The different mySugr Challenges cover diabetes education topics over a various number of weeks. The Challenges provide education, support and engagement opportunities for people with diabetes. Participants can watch and/or read the material and further discuss and individualize with their personal diabetes care and education specialist.


About the Association of Diabetes Care & Education Specialists: ADCES is an interdisciplinary professional membership organization dedicated to improving prediabetes, diabetes and cardiometabolic care through innovative education, management and support. With more than 12,000 professional members including nurses, dietitians, pharmacists and others, ADCES has a vast network of practitioners working to optimize care and reduce complications. ADCES offers an integrated care model that lowers the cost of care, improves experiences and helps its members lead so better outcomes follow. Learn more at DiabetesEducator.org, or visit us on Facebook or LinkedIn (Association of Diabetes Care & Education Specialists), Twitter (@ADCESdiabetes) and Instagram (@ADCESdiabetes).

Next Post

Langford, Henry and Loyer voted MSU Captains for 2020-21

LANSING, Mich. (WILX) – The Michigan State basketball team has named its Captains for the upcoming season. Head Coach Tom Izzo said the team voted for graduate student Josh Langford and Juniors Aaron Henry and Foster Loyer to be Captains for 2020-21. This will be the third season that Langford […]

You May Like